Make your own free website on

STAR Country!

Home | News Room | STAR Views | Concert Hall | Secrets For Success | STAR Quotes | Links | Contact

STARific Review: Miranda Lambert - Miranda Lambert

Click on the album cover to purchase YOUR copy of Miranda's CD:

Two years before Lindale, Texas sweetheart Miranda Lambert made her mark on Nashville Star, the singer/songwriter had already released her self-titled album. Then, in 2002, USA Networks hosted the very first country music-based televised show; 8,000 hopefuls auditioned for a chance to become the first-ever Nashville Star. Miranda was chosen as one of 12 finalists and then placed third overall. This delightful debut is jammed-packed full with plenty of heartaches, hope, and healing all incorporated into ten toe-tapping tracks in true Texas style! Miranda teams with her father, Rick Lambert, on four of them; the rest are solely penned by the 19-year-old songstress!

The opening midtempo song finds Miranda seeking to escape the rigors of the daily grind; she sings, "I wanna be SOMEBODY ELSE for a little while." Next, TEXAS PRIDE was written by Miranda's father 25 years ago. Miranda changed a few words, and a hit single was born! In fact, the unexpected success of it spurned the release of this album, after dominating the top spot on the Texas Independent Charts for outstanding 11 consecutive weeks! In the melancholy melody of LYIN' HERE, she finds herself caught in the midst of some serious heartache and emotional pain. This major tearjerker is my personal favorite from this album. Thinking twice about love, Miranda two-steps her way around ANOTHER HEARTACHE. Still heartbroken, she wonders WHAT IN THE WORLD is happening to her, why she can't seem to stop thinking about the man who broke her heart? In an intentionally ambiguous tune, Miranda reveals her satisfying love affair with JACK DANIELS. Then in TEXAS AS HELL, she introduces non-Texans to the way of life for residents in the Lonestar State. If you want to talk honky-tonking, neon lights, lonesome country songs, and swinging doors are definite must - so says Miranda in SOMETHING THAT I LIKE ABOUT A HONKY TONK. Slowing it down with LAST GOODBYE, she decides to let go and bring closure to past relationships. As if to affirm her newfound confidence, she leaves WICHITA FALLS behind in search of a new and better life.

Miranda Lambert was already well on her way to finding country music stardom; in the past couple years, she's become a favorite in her native state of Texas. Now, thanks to Nashville Star, the rest of the world will find out what Miranda is all about!

[NOTE: Miranda recorded this CD before signing with Sony. In accordance with the label, this CD is now only for sale at her shows.]


Miranda Lambert
Miranda Lambert
Released September 2001
Heartfair Records

Miranda Lambert


1. Somebody Else
2. Texas Pride
3. Lyin' Here
4. Another Heartache
5. What in the World
6. Jack Daniels
7. Texas as Hell
8. Something That I Like About a Honky Tonk
9. Last Goodbye
10. Wichita Falls

All articles, reviews, and artist feature pages on this site are Copyright 2001-2009 by STAR Country! and CAN NOT be copied, screen printed, or otherwise duplicated or reproduced without explicit written permission from STAR Country!

If you are an artist and need direct links to any article, review, or the like on this site, please

Number of visitors: